MTB Skills/Clinics in Southeast

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

I’ve been riding regularly now for a good 2 years and while I FEEL like I enjoy my rides while on the trails there always, ALWAYS appears some type of “challenge” that I have either tried and failed miserably at (OTB comes to mind) or, now I simply get off my bike and walk over/through. At 55yrs old I just can’t afford too many crash/recoveries as the rate has seemed to slow down quite a bit. LOL

With all that being said one of my riding buddies mentioned to me about the possibility of attending a 2-3 day skills clinic to learn some new “proper” ways to ride and even unlearn some bad habits that maybe we’ve brought on ourselves as we’ve ridden.

Does or has anyone been to one somewhat located in the Southeast proximity that they were particularly satisfied with afterwards that also made a difference when you got back out on trails? If so, I’d love a link to them to check them out and see if they have anything coming up this fall.

Thanks guys/gals!

kenwrightjr:  At 55 yrs old I just can’t afford too many crash/recoveries

At 57, I keep trying (failing) to tell myself that.  🙂  Truth be told, I ride harder now than ever (read: riskier), which has, is, and always will, lead to more crashes.  I don’t have any info on clinics in your area, but I have on few occasions considered one or two.  Never executed though.  Having been riding mountain bikes since the late 70’s, long before clinics existed, I feel I learned a lot just frequently riding with others better than me on the very trails I frequented.  I’ve recently gone through revisiting some basics with a new (newer geometry) bike.  I had to relearn a few things.  Also, over the years, trails have changed a lot.  For me, it’s a never ending learning process.  Part of what I like about the sport.