Mountain Bike Speed

Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author

I am a math teacher in Chicago, grading projects that my students put together.
      One of those projects dealt with my student and his friends riding their mountain bike over a one block distance. He then calculated the speed of himself and his high school friends.

Which brings me to my question, their speeds were 30-38mph which threw up a red flag to me, not believing they could achieve that speed. He mentioned in his project that it was a mountain bike, but even if the block was downhill, could they reach those speeds?

30mph on a flat road isn’t too difficult for a road bike and a mountain bike with the right gear ratios could probably get pretty close. I sorta doubt these kids were able to get to the upper 30s though unless there was a pretty good slope.

As a point of reference, the world record speed on a mountain bike is just over 100mph on a 45-degree mountain slope. So yeah, if their block has a 45-degree slope they could have hit 38mph no problem 😀

http://www.singletracks.com/blog/uncate … d-records/

Top speed that I know of is 34mph down hill on a forest service road. I believe I could of gone faster but my eyes started to water.

Could it of been a measurement error? In my experience (I teach HS chem) this is common among students. I would at least ask them how they got their measurements and if there was any possibility of an error. This will allow them to explain if they did do it legit. Also it will let them know if they did not that they better not try to pull one over on you again.

Second, what are you doing correcting during Christmas break?

While racing road bikes during sprints at the pro level speeds get up to and over 40 on flat ground.

Kids on mountain bikes, umm might be tough unless its a steep hill and they have some momentum before the starting line.