Mentality of a Mountain Biker

Tagged: , , ,

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

I have a question of how you the Mountain Biker thinks. This was brought to my attention when I rode Noble Canyon this past week with my riding buddie from the UK.

Situation- Noble Canyon is an “Advanced / Black Diamond” DH track in San Diego’s East County. My riding buddie is an experienced rider from the UK. He has a decked out FS bike with a full face helmet, body armor and all the pads. I ride a HT 2009 Trek 69er SS I have a Giro Flak helmet and gloves.

Mission- Ride Noble Canyon with speed and intensity. And have a Blast!
      Conclusion- Crazy insaine DH ride, I had two broken pedals and bloody legs. Riding buddie had bloody leg from a rock that jumped up and bit him.

At the end of the ride he said that I ride my bike really hard, and I do I guess. Im not that experienced I probably shouldn’t have rode that trail, but im just out to have fun and enjoy life.

So my question is: Do you think that if you know the “dangers” of riding it would hold you back (to a point)? Or because you may not know the “dangers” your going to do it cuz its fun. Kinda like “yeah I could fall and break something, or fall down the side of the hill so I wont do it.” I know that this wont really apply to pros but to the average rider.

Bottom line, I rode a trail that I probably shouldn’t have cuz it looked fun and I didn’t really care what would happen, I was just out to have fun and didn’t account for the dangers.

I don’t know if I put the question in a readable format, it kinda seems confusing. But I hope you will be able to understand, if not let me know and ill try to re format it.