Me Newbie

Tagged: ,

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

Hey guys and gals I have a old Trek 4300 that i buyed in late 04 early 05 and i’m just wondering the front shocks don’t work becuase there rusted out so is there something i can do to fix them but without having to get a whole new front fork. The shocks are silver so they are the spring operated kind that looks gas operated. They are rusted out becuase in 2005 Me and my family bycicled across Canada so i’m not new to biking i’m just new to mountain biking. Also i’m wondering what kind of trails could i do in the Trek 4300. and I live in Whistler BC so don’t worry i have lots of choices for trails.

Fork issues first…

Is this your bike?
      [url:3jv0fqgz]http://www.bikepedia.com/quickbike/BikeSpecs.aspx?Year=2004&Brand=Trek&Model=4300&Type=bike[/url:3jv0fqgz]
      Check the specs to make sure they match up.
      If so, bad news. It seems to be pretty hard to find info on this company. Not sure if they changed names or were bought out but a little searching led me to the following site.
      [url:3jv0fqgz]http://www.spinner-usa.com/e/allmountain-grind01.htm[/url:3jv0fqgz]
      It’s hard to tell from the picture but I’m thinking that may be your fork (or at least maybe it’s the fork made one year after yours).
      You may be able to contact them and see if there are any manuals on the fork and how to service it. I haven’t had any luck finding anything online.

Bike capability questions next…

I probably don’t have to say this but, until you get the fork thing figured out, I wouldn’t ride the bike as it could be pretty dangerous.