Looking for a new tire

Viewing 16 reply threads
  • Author

I have been riding Bontrager XR3 for about two years now. They have been a really good tire and still have plenty of tread. But…. the rubber between the tread is starting to crack, like it has dry wrought. Not fatigue on the sidewalls, just between the tread. I typically run my tires between 30-35 psi. I have put about 1000 miles on these tires and it is strictly a trail bike. It has also been garage kept. I had Kenda’s Small Block 8’s prior to these and enjoyed those tires. They just wore down after roughly 1000+ miles as well. So it appears I am in the market for new tires as I don’t want the ones I am currently riding to let go on me while riding.

What are some suggestions? I live in East Tennessee, so not much sand.. most packed clay trails with some occasional loose dirt and gravel along with rock gardens sprinkled in. I ride a hard tail pretty aggressive but not extreme.

Thanks for any suggestions.

It appears that cost is the biggest factor for you. There are plenty of lower cost tires (you did not mention a wheel size) that can be very durable in exchange for higher weight and less grip. I ride in the same region and go through many more tires per year (my tires, especially the rear would be toast long before a 1000 miles!) and thus you are likely running tires way past the point of good grip and also where safety is compromised. To each their own. I’d first go to your local bike shop and see what they have, what’s on sale and what they recommend. If you don’t find something there you like then look online.

My bike came with bontraeger tires.  Those lasted about 5 runs before I swapped them out.  I run Panaracer FirePro’s on both my hardtail and my full suspension.  I love ’em.  I ride in NorCal, so a mix of rock, roots, sandstone, and a bit of mud.  These tires have great sidewall grip and they throw the mud.