Leaves Everywhere!

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author

I’m still new to the sport, I’ve had my bike for a few months now. I did about 100 road miles before I even hit a trail. I’ve done around 5 trails, about 30 miles now. I haven’t had any real issues learning until now. What does everyone do about the leaves? I crashed twice now and I’m putting most of the blame on the leaves. They hide obstacles and my rear has kicked out a couple times. Plus I can’t get traction uphill when on the leaves. I’ve aired down to below 40 psi. Not real sure how low I can go, I’m running tubes.  Any suggestions?

Yep, leaves can make things tricky. Easiest advice is to just slow down when you’re not sure what’s underneath the leaves to avoid being thrown by hidden obstacles.

As far as getting traction, rear traction is all about weight distribution, specifically balancing as much weight on the rear wheel as possible. This doesn’t necessarily mean you should lean backward–I find it best to tuck down low, pull down and back on the bars, and really drive my legs down and back. That’s probably not a great explanation but you can practice and experiment on the trails.

Also, 40psi is still pretty high pressure even with tubes. You should still be plenty safe closer to 32psi but IMO, your traction will benefit the most from getting the weight distribution down pat.

I’m sure it’s just a lack of skill and fitness on the uphills. I try to remain seated as long as possible. Sometimes though, I have to stand to really dig in. That is when I start to loose traction in the back. The leaves make it much worse.  Slowing down when I can’t see what’s below or on the switchbacks is what I thought and probably solid advice, but who wants to slow down…LOL! IDK what’s worse, going slow or being thrown over the bars? Thanks for the advice! As a new rider I’ll take all I can get.

Jeff had some good advice.