Kamikazi DHs…

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Hello.. newbie here. Roadie for twenty years; switched over to mtb for six months now. So, I went out on some techy trails with my Gary Fisher hardtail w/ my new group outfitted with high end bikes- Santa Cruzes, Konas, etc. These guys are hardcore; they blast through the downhill portions but have a hard time on the way back up. Point is, do all mtbs- XC riders in particular- put more emphasis on the downhill? It’s not how strong you are, it’s how you ride the technical stuff. In that case, I got a long way to go…

Hello.. newbie here. Roadie for twenty years; switched over to mtb for six months now. So, I went out on some techy trails with my Gary Fisher hardtail w/ my new group outfitted with high end bikes- Santa Cruzes, Konas, etc. These guys are hardcore; they blast through the downhill portions but have a hard time on the way back up. Point is, do all mtbs- XC riders in particular- put more emphasis on the downhill? It’s not how strong you are, it’s how you ride the technical stuff. In that case, I got a long way to go…

Hey sampson,welcom aboard the mountain biking lifestyle.Are you totally done with road bike’s,or are you alternating??If I was you,I would put an emphasis on climbing with all those road miles under your belt,you can find alot of technical stuff on climbs as well as level singletrack and trails.I bet your legs could get you up some nasty rock garden walls and tough technical sections which I aspire to.I ride a 2007 XL StumpJumper which is basically rated for trail,xc,little bit of down hill and free ride,basically a do-all bike.I mostly ride trail but most trails out here in colorado have climbs and rocks & roots.If you want to do some downhill as well,you need to figure out how much down hill you want to do if your thinking about buying another bike because you can buy a bike that can have a combination of riding styles built into it so you can get a bike just for your own riding style(s).