Just bought my first "real" bike… Good deal?

Tagged: ,

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

After 2 or 3 "disposable" mountain bikes from Target (all Schwinns) I took advantage of an end of year sale at my local bike shop. Since the sale was ending tomorrow, I sort of impulse bought a new bike. Being that I am a newbie to the whole scene, I’m looking for a second opinion. The bikes I tested (all brand new)

2009 Giant Anthem X3 (priced at $1700)
      2008 Gary Fisher HiFi Plus 29 (priced at $1200)
      2009 Trek Fuel Ex (priced at $1300)

I ended up buying the Gary Fisher. It felt the best. Maybe because I’ve never been on a bike with 29" wheels. Plus, it was the cheapest with the highest mark down ("Original" sticker price was $2200) What do you guys/girls think? And, by the way, I mostly ride in Middle TN. Not many rocky trails, just mud, roots and wood.

I have your same bike, and I think you got an amazing deal. I bought mine in jan. of this year at full price. I live and ride in northeast AL. The terrain here is perfect for the fisher. A really good improvement you can make to the fisher is a new set of maxxis crossmark tires w/stans tubeless setup. You wil save a ton of weight and lower rolling resistance. Enjoy your new ride!!

Whoo-Hoo. Just rode it for the first time yesterday. It felt like I was in a monster truck with those 29". Really smooth going over roots and rocks. Definitely gave me WAY more confidence. I then hoped back on my old bike. Lol! Felt like a big-wheels! Cheers everybody.

Those HiFis are sweet arent they? 😃 I havent tried a 29 but I looooove my deluxe. They are a real confidence booster so be careful 😀 I paid the piper for mine last week.

Enjoy your new ride man!

Oh yeah, you got a bitchin deal! Thats a lot of bike for your buck.