just a quick question

Tagged: ,

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

I am relatively new to mountain biking, bought a cannondale f4 brand new from the local bike store a few weeks ago, and i have a few questions.

1) I am a pretty big guy, about 6 feet 215 lbs; I keep my seat low because it feels like i get more drive that way with my powerful legs, but i feel cramped at times, as well. The sales man at the bike store gave me a good bike for my frame but i am just wondering about seat height. How high should i put it…as in relation to the bend of my knee when i am pedaling.

2) I also have a problem with my pedals feeling a bit low. It feels like when i pedal my feet are within inches , hell an inch of hitting the ground. Is this normal? can i adjust the pedals or is it just something i need to get used to.

thanks for any assistance,

brian

Seat height is something the salesperson at the bike shop should have fit you for, but the leg that is at the bottom of the pedal stroke should have only a slight knee bend. This means that you most likely need to raise your seat. Your legs/knees should NEVER feel cramped when you ride. I am 6’1" and my seat is about 12-14 inches off the frame. As for your second question, you most likely need a higher tire pressure. At your weight, 40 pounds of pressure should work well.

Dude,deffinatly take you and your bike back to the bike store where you bought your bike because your feet are hanging off your pedals and you say your seat is adjusted too low.does’nt sound good.Like flamdrag said,your salesman should have made sure your seat was adjusted at the very least.Your not riding a free ride or down hill bike and you need that seat and the rest of your bike adjusted to your body because with the bike you have you will be doing some pedaling,as in alot of pedaling and your knee’s and hip’s will or may become damaged if you do alot of pedaling with a maladjusted bike.