Is This a Good Beginner Mtb?

Tagged: 

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author

Hello, I’m new to mountain biking and to forums so were shooting two birds with one stone today. I’m going to be buying my first mountain bike this weekend (exciting, right!?), but I just want to get some reviews of the bike I will be getting. Its a

http://www.terapeak.com/worth/raleigh-m60-vintage-rare-stx-shimano-weinmann-sun-tour-usa/141751505008/

Will this be a good bike to begin mountain biking on? Thanks for everyone out there who might know and have a great day 🙂

Probably not.

Antique guitars are pretty awesome, usually. Antique bicycles are crap. Usually. That bike is worth maybe 50-60 bucks, at most. It probably won’t be very enjoyable to ride, and that’s the problem – the more fun you have, the more success you have, the more you’ll really get into biking. If it’s a pain in the ass (literally), you’ll find another hobby pretty quickly. My advice – even though you didn’t ask for it – is see what your local bike shops have to offer. Tell them what you have to spend, that you’re new to mountain biking, and they may have used/demo/rental bikes they can let you have pretty reasonable.

Agreed, that is probably not a good MTB to start with in 2016. Looks cool as a collector’s item though…

However, just to play devil’s advocate, SOMEONE probably started mountain biking on a bike just like that back in the 1990s. And many riders who started on those bikes (myself included I guess) actually had fun and stuck with the sport.

Then again, we didn’t have guys blowing by us on lightweight bikes with buttery suspension, dropper posts, and 11-speed drivetrains. That would be enough for anyone on a bike like this to get frustrated.

Agreed with the above. To get some good opinions, you need to share some details. What’s your price range? Where do you live? What’s your fitness level and age like? How long do you want the bike to last?