Im new.

Tagged: 

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

Hey guys just wanted to say that I’m new to the sport and your site. The site is awsome. Great info. I don’t have a good bike by any means. Especially looking at what’s out there on the market. I bought a no name 26" MTB. It’s a rigid set-up. I really bought it to try and get in shape to be able to do some trails and not kill myself. Lol. But I’m 6’4" 280lbs. So I have some weight to lose. Also a smoker so I’m tryin to ride to help quit smoking. I live in the pocono area of PA. But just wanted to say what’s up.

Hey steamer1227,glad to meet ya.If you feel alright on that no name then ride it.A cheap bike dont neccessarily mean that it wont work for ya if it has to,but if it has really bad geometry and is uncomfortable then that sucks and is not good for riding.If you want to loose some weight and quit smoking,then stick with it,mtn biking is really cool but can be hard at first,keep going and when you start riding stuff you thought you couldnt,then it’ll blow your mind how cool it is.

Thanx. The bike does feel pretty good for me. I used to ride BMx back in the day so I’m not new to riding in general at least. Lol. But I’m so excited bought riding again. My wife thinks I’m crazy cuz it’s been all I can talk about lately. Haha o well. Lol. But I’ve been just absorbing so much info from the site about MTB. I love the feeling that I get from just road riding now to get in shape that I can’t wait to get on a trail when I build up some more stamina. The one question that I did have is it worth me upgrading the shifters, derailleurs, and tires on this bike? I’m not planning on dumping a whole lot of money into this bike. I do plan on(when I get mote into the sport) getting a better bike. But I have freakin sundance parts on it now which seem to be very cheap.

Oh by the way it’s a 3×5 setup right now. Is it possible to add some more cogs in the rear too?