I FINALLY DID IT! :D

Forums Mountain Bike Forum I FINALLY DID IT! :D

--
SHARES

This topic contains 9 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Frank79r 1 year, 6 months ago.

• Author

My wife finally, finally agreed to let me get my first full suspension bike! I went to my LBS (Fahrradladen) located in Ramstien-Mesinbach, Germany. The owner there, Fabian, runs that store perfectly. I go there for any of my bike needs, even when I had my crappy Cannondale. I went there and I ended up getting myself a very sexy giant… Giant Stance 2 27.5. OMG the difference! I have rode 40mi (70k) in the past 3 days that I have had the bike and I can’t wait to get out of work and go out riding. There is little village right behind my base that I’m stationed at and I have learned that entire mountain in the last 3 days.

All that being said, what is the things that I have to watch for with the bike as this is my first time owning a FS MTB? Any tips out there? Thanks in advance!

Also, I know the Stance runs for 2k but I got a massive deal on mine. I just saw a post from earlier a few days that somebody was saying the Stance 2 was not worth it, but the deal that I got, I couldn’t pass it up!

Lastly, if anybody is over here in Germany, Rheinland-Pfalz, and wants to go riding, LET ME KNOW! I need more people to ride with!

Congrats!

Congrats!

Keep in mind that a FS bike isn’t designed to simply plow into every obstacle on the trail. I know when I first upgraded from a hardtail to a FS I thought the bike was invincible and that I didn’t need to choose my lines as carefully as before. Turns out this is not the case, and overconfidence often leads to injury and damage to the bike. 🙂 Full suspension generally allows riders to go faster and longer, but it doesn’t do all the work for the rider.

Congrats! I know your joy…I just got my first full-suspensionthis past November. The difference in handling just from the added rear traction is incredible.