How easy to maintain a constant heart rate for fat loss?

Singletracks Mountain Bike News, Reviews, MTB Trails and Community Protected: Forums Mountain Bike Forum How easy to maintain a constant heart rate for fat loss?

Tagged: 

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author

Hello,

I’m brand new to the prospect of mountain biking. I’m a disciplined and dedicated hiker, but have always hated hiking downhill; there’s no workout to speak of, and it’s hard on the knees. I’ve lately been considering buying a mountain bike so I can enjoy myself going both ways. The main reason I hike is to keep the fat off my body; my goal is almost always to hold my heart rate at a rock-solid 125 BPM all the way to the peak, no matter which mountain I’m climbing. If I’m climbing a very steep slope, I slow down to keep my heart in the right range. The target heart rate would remain the same if I were to switch to using a bike. Is this doable?

A road bike might seem a more logical choice, considering my aim, but my heart would break if I had to leave my wild trails behind. Maybe I’ll bite the bullet on a mountain bike even if the answer to my question is, "Hell no, you won’t keep a steady heart rate in that zone."

Maintaining a steady heart rate on a mountain bike is a lot harder for me than on a road bike. The incline changes happen much more rapidly and they are also typically a lot steeper grades as well. If fat burning were your goal and you didn’t want to hit the paved roads, long fire road stretches would probably be your best bet to maintain a steady heart rate on a mountain bike. Unfortunately, forest roads are not trails so you’ll lose the aspect of really feeling deep in the woods on secluded singletrack.