Help with wheels….

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author

I have a Scott Scale 970. Its all stock. The rear wheel got bent way out of whack, and the shop I bought it from set me up with a Mavic A-317, which I found out is for road bikes. I am trying to buy a set of rims, The Azonic Outlaws, but I am not sure what is compatible with my bike frame. Can I use the thru axles such as the 15 or 20mm? The 12×142? Or am I stuck with QR with the frame? I have the SR Suntour XCR forks, still. Primarily, I just want to know that the said wheels will work with my bike. I am still learning about the sizes and how it all works.

Thanks!

Most companies sell a conversion kit, so you can change axle sizes. You’ll notice a nice difference going with a bigger axel- worth the $$$.

"Gdb49" wrote

Most companies sell a conversion kit, so you can change axle sizes. You’ll notice a nice difference going with a bigger axel- worth the $$$.

So my frame and forks will accept the axle upgrade? I just dont know how all the compatibility works with everything. I’m still too new to all this. All I know is I have the skinny skewers on my front and rear right now.

He must have misunderstood your question. If your frame and fork is setup for QR9, then that’s all you can run. You will have to match the wheels to what your frame and fork will accept. He’s absolutely right that you can often purchase adapters to make a rim fit multiple configurations, but this doesn’t help you in your situation. If you got a smoking deal on some wheels that were configured for different axles, then purchasing adapters for your axle setup would help you get a nice set of wheels on the cheap. Adapters will never change what axle you can use on your bike, however.

You could upgrade your fork with one that would accept a beefier axle, but you’re stuck with the axle that you’ve got in the back.