Help needed with getting started!

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author

I’ve been riding bikes for a hobby for many years, both mountain and road, but I finally pushed myself to get into off-road mountain biking.
      I’m not sure what equipment to buy and I don’t want to just go to the top brand and pay the most money for the names.

I’m still a college student so I don’t have tons of money to put towards this right now.

I currently have:
      -MTB Trek Helmet
      -Trek 4 Series Bike
      -Bontrager MTB gloves

I’m currently set on buying:
      Crankbrothers Mallet 3 Pedals.
      A Trek Downhill Bike next year.

I’m lost on where to go when it comes to pants, shirts (I’m not into the tight roadie style), shoes, etc.
      I’ve started getting on sites and the options and opinions are spreading too fast to keep up with!

I’d greatly appreciate the help anyone can provide me with!

Hi Gregory and welcome.  Crankbrothers is good stuff. Go with  Baggy shorts with under liner or you can get the chamois built in.  I prefer the under liner with baggy shorts for mtb. I also ride road and prefer the tight shorts with built in for that. Jersey is up to you. I like mine to have at least 1 zippered pocket and loose fit. I got some on ebay and some from sierra trading post. Check nashbar and jenson also. My first shoes came from the lbs and are Bontrager. They have been in use for the last 4 years and still are good. That being said I have bought 2 other pairs 1 from jenson and 1 from nashbar and they are fine. Liked the help getting fitted from the LBS for my shoes. Make sure the cleats for crankbrothers fit the shoes you get.  What kind of shape is your helmet in? Has it taken any major impacts? If not real good shape consider a new one.  It is a good idea to keep up on your helmet IMHO.

Good luck!