Help Me Decide – Whyte or Salsa

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

I’ve been riding an Ibex Trophy Comp x7 for the last 10 years and I’m contemplating a new bike. Here are the specs on my bike now: https://www.mtbr.com/product/bikes/x…y-comp-x7.html

I’m trying to decide between the Whyte 801 or the Salsa Timberjack NX1. I can get both for a similar price. I’ve done a lot of reading about the TJ and know of its stock weaknesses. Not a lot out there on the Whyte. I won’t have much to do any upgrading on these bikes

Whyte:https://www.whyteusa.bike/products/801
      Salsa TJ: https://salsacycles.com/bikes/timber…rjack_nx1_27.5

Give me your thoughts!

I can’t speak specifically to the Whyte 801, but have purchased a Whyte T-130.  Generally speaking, I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of Whyte’s builds.  Very solid and high quality feel.  The design (geo, etc.), at least for the full suspension T-130, it dead on good.  As for customer service, I had a great experience.  As you probably already know, they are U.K. based, and are sold in the U.S. through the Sliprock Tap and Wheel bike shop right next to the Marin Museum of Bicycling in Fairfax, CA (Marin County).  And yes, they serve food and beer there.  Pre sales was very personal and friendly, and post sales immediate and thorough.  They went though some dimensions with me to determine stem height and spacing, and you have the option of tubes or tubeless setup.  No shipping costs, and no tax if you’re not in California.  It took three days to receive my bike from California to Texas, including a train derailment delay.  If by chance you need warranty service, you have the option of taking the bike to an LBS, and they’ll reimburse you.  Just coordinate that with them.  Or, of course, you could ship it to the shop in CA.  I have yet to require any warranty service (since last July).  They have a 30 day ride it, try it, return if you don’t like it, policy.