Help installing rear derailleur Sram X-7

Tagged: , , ,

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

hello all,
      I’m having some issues installing my rear derailleur. as this is my first time installing one, I’m not sure if I should proceed or not. here is the video i plan on using as my ref once I get started:
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1I0P9Mj … re=related

ok, so I took this derailleur off my iron horse and I’m putting it on my double. Right now I have it mounted on the dropout and it’s curled up tight. 1st, is it suppose to have play to the left and right? I have it tightened down as tight as possible and the derailleur still has the ability to rock back and forth about an inch.

2nd. when I put the rear wheel on, the top chainwheel of the derailleur is flat against the cassette. it will pedal but its very clanky. The entire derailleur is curled up tight and look much different from the guy’s X-9 in the video after he mounts it (his has the swing arm hanging down at its own will – before he installs the cable). I see 4 screws on the derilleur. one on the back with a long screw that faces towards the mounting hardware (not sure what this one is for), then I see the high/low screws on the top and the screw on the bottom that the cable goes into. how can I go about getting the derailleur to back off the cassette and not be so curled up before I proceed to install the cable/shifter, or is this normal until I start setting the high/low?

The sram product guides are a nightmare, i’ve tried there. any help is greatly appriceated!

thanks

Right now I have it mounted on the dropout and it’s curled up tight.

This is normal when the chain is not installed,of course I dont know if you have the chain installed or not,you said this: