Helmet, full-face or traditional?

Viewing 21 reply threads
  • Author

Hey, hoping people can offer some opinions. I’m thinking about getting a new helmet (nothing wrong with my old one other than it’s styling, no crashes or anything) and I’m debating the pros and cons of a full-face helmet (like the Giro Remedy or Specialized Deviant) vs a "traditional" style helmet (which is what I have now). I know that full-face are usually worn by DH riders, and I’m still relatively new to serious downhill trails and really technical singletrack, but I also have a healthy fear of dying/messing up my head.

So, would I be better off with a "traditional" helmet, or is a full-face okay (albeit probably overkill)?

If you’re going to ride DH trails or do some freeriding then I would definitely recommend the fullface. If you just ride XC then the full face would be a little cumbersome. If the trails you ride aren’t real steep and gnarly allowing you to get some serious speed with chances of crashing on rocks or into trees then you may regret spending the money on the fullface.

cjm

Why does it have to be one or the other? A full face definitely has its place. But so does a well vented XC helmet. When I rode some of the gnarlier all-mountain trails in Va I would take both with me. I would wear an XC helmet on the grunt to the top, then put on my full face for the descent. If you are going to be riding any DH you need your own full face that fits your head correctly.

Another thing is that XC lids aren’t held to as high of standard as most FF helmets. Look for the ASTM F 1952 standard among others on the helmet. A proper DH braincase can take a more aggressive impact on any part of the helmet than your standard CPSC certified helmet. If you are going to get something that interferes with your breathing, it may as well actually offer more protection.

The article below seems like it was written in 1999 and not 2009, but two of the rebuttals are outstanding.