Hello, and seeking advice

Forums Mountain Bike Forum Hello, and seeking advice

Viewing 16 reply threads
  • Author

Good afternoon. I’ve been checking out the forum for a while, and made a couple of posts recently in the Southeast forum, but thought I would elevate my introduction to the broader forum.

I’m also in the market for a new bike, and thought I’d see what some of you have to say. I currently ride a Specialized HardRock. It’s probably ten years old, and the only upgrade I have ever made is to clipless pedals. It has no suspension.

I am no expert rider, but I have put that bike to the test over the years and I’d say it is a pretty solid ride. I’m just ready for an upgrade, so that I can take my riding to the next level.

My two main goals in buying a new bike is suspension and disk brakes. Regarding suspension, I am uncertain whether to go front or full. Any advice here on the advantages/disadvantages would be great. Cost may end up being the deciding factor in the end. I have seen reference to hydraulic and mechanical disc brakes on the forum, but don’t know much about them beyond that (except that my friends’ bikes stop on a dime, while I squeak along with my old brake pads).

Based on my experience with my current bike, I wouldn’t mind staying with Specialized, but based on some preliminary research it looks like I could get a similar bike from Trek, for instance, for less dough.

Budget wise, I would like to keep it around $1,000, but could go to $1,500 without too much pain. Beyond that, I will need some serious convincing (or perhaps a loan).

Speaking of which, I wanted to pass along that Trek has a credit line that you can take to your LBS and get 90 days SAC.

I plan to hit up my LBS for guidance too, but would appreciate your advice.

See ya on the trails.

Good to have you here!