Hello all

Tagged: 

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

Thought I should post a hello here. I am 56 years young, and have been on and off about bicycling for the past few years. I have a Cannondale F500 hardtail (about 2002, don’t remember exactly), and an Ibex Asta (2007). Even though I have ridden (off and on) for a few years, I would still consider myself a beginner, as I prefer to stay on the county roads and fire roads. I do venture off to play a little, but, at my advanced age, I am well aware of how much falling can hurt, so tend to be careful. 😀 I live in central AZ, and am fortunate to have BLM and State Land within a half mile to ride on. I had a quadruple bypass surgery in March which prompted me to get active again, and I have increased my riding to hopefully help my cardio health and prolong my life.

I live in Mayer, AZ, and work as an Autobody tech in Phoenix. I am a veteran of over 17 years in the Marine Corps. I ride a Harley, and politically am somewhere between a Libertarian and a Minarchist. I am seriously worried about the direction this country is taking.

Looking forward to reading a learning a little more about Mountain Biking.

Lon

Welcome to what is IMO the friendliest place around to discuss biking.

I’m with you on the ‘don’t want to break anything’ style of riding, but don’t let age or condition/physical issues slow you down. There’s no harm in riding the more gnarly trails – you can always push it through the stuff that’s more than you’re willing to risk. The rewards (scenery, or sense of acheivement when you finally nail something you couldn’t do a couple months ago) on the more gnarly trails are very often worth the time pushing.

Regarding the politics – I’ll take a pass; this isn’t the place… I will say that I’m not a happy camper this year.

Good luck with the recovery from the bypass. I hope MTB plays a substantial part in that quest, and becomes or remains a passion.

Hello Teufelhunde,