First Time DH Gear Advice

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

I’m fairly new to biking and this is my first time posting on singletracks.com. I love this site and have really taken advantage of all the great information to be found here. My first time on a bicycle in 25 years was just last summer. I loved mountain biking so much that I upgraded to a 2013 Rumblefish full suspension 29er this spring. I’ve already put nearly 3,000 miles on it (that’s a lot for me). I have started really enjoying some slightly more aggressive down-hill terrain after making the big climbs and I’d like to head up to one of the down-hill biking parks/ski resorts here in Colorado before the season ends.

My question for you all is, am I going to be very disappointed spending a day at a downhill park on my Rumblefish, or should I look into a downhill specific bike? I like to go fast and I enjoy a little air here and there, (maybe 36"-48" drops max). I’ve found that I haven’t noticed any disadvantage on the technical terrain on my 29er as compared to my friends who are all on 26" bikes, but will that be significantly different at a downhill park?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

What I would do is spend a day at a park on your bike, see what you think, then rent a dh bike and spend a day riding. You will get a good idea of the difference before you shell out a lot of cash. I haven’t rode a Rumblefish, but it is billed as a do-it-all trail bike. I ride my Kona Coiler, which has 120mm of suspension on dh trails. While it doesn’t have the plushness of a full-on dh rig, it isn’t bad! My Kona has 26" wheels though, the 29" wheels will handle differently for you.

The 26" wheels are an advantage for a dh bike, which helps in the tight, technical stuff. Plus a dh bike will have much more than the 120mm of suspension.

First step is to try yours and see what you think!