First singletrack official ride

Tagged: ,

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

Well, i thought i’d share my first experience on a singletrack at Seneca Creek in MD.

Havent’s done this before (although i have some XC experience from back in the day), I bought my 09 DB Response Sport and after couple of small test rides, ventured out to a singletrack around Clopper Lake.

When I got to the trailhead, it started raining, not hard but steady; temp. was 50. I sat in a car thinking about it, but then i said: Well I’m already here, so let me do this. May not be as much fun, but I was in the Army for 7 years and had to run plenty of times at 6:30 am in the rain, snow, sleet and after it I always was satisfied that i did it.

So, I ventured out on a trail, slowly…only 15 seconds into the ride, there was a medium decent (which I wasnt too ready for). The ground was wet, there were a lot of leaves ( this is fall in MD, 15 Oct 09), and as i came down, it was scarry; on the breaks most of the decent, locked up rear couple of times. The problem was that there were rocks, roots, trees and logs, going down, and I was not sure how I would deal with them at higher speeds. Managed to stay on the bike though ;)

Then, there were a few climbs. Tried to remember the basics of breathing, sooth pedaling, right gear, weight distribution. It was hard, rear was slippin as my weight was towards the front to put pressure on the front wheel. Had to walk the bike uphill couple of times. I think I need to get in better shape. Wait, not "i think", I KNOW ;)

Went around the lake a few miles: Nice scenery, although very cloudy, rainy and cold.

Had a lot of fun though, although I need to work on my fear of decending at high speed. Kinda scarry. Bike is a hardtail and it was bouncing all over the pace as i went over roots and smaller rocks.

Also, need some practice going over logs on uphills – it seemed impossible.