First Mountain Bike Selection Help

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Hey guys, I’m new here on the site. I’ve been riding bicycles since 2 years old, and most of my experience comes from racing BMX and riding dirtbikes. I’ve recently been craving mountain bikes, and I’m looking to purchase my first. I will be riding mainly trails in So Cal, but I’m also interested in Nor Cal, Oregon, and Washington trails/bike parks.

I want something that I can actually pedal uphill, but also something that will be nimble and fast downhill. Like I said I come from BMX and motocross, so I will be jumping the bike as well.

I’m thinking used for cheaper prices, but new is okay as well. I recently rode a 2017 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp Carbon 650 and loved it. I want full suspension no matter what, but I’m open to nearly anything. Any recommendations?

Also, another question. How much do bike frames vary in performance from year to year? I’m wondering because I’ve been finding a bunch of lightly used bikes from 2010-2015 for fairly decent prices, and I need this bike to last for awhile.

Thank you for your time!

The Stumpjumper is a good bike, also check out the Giant Trance, Santa Cruz Bronson, and the Salsa Redpoint. I have demoed all four, and a bunch more in the last year and they were some my favorites.  If I was to buy a new bike now the Trance would be it. If you are thinking about plus size tires, my favorite was the Cannondale Bad-Habit.

I come from a similar background.  Mostly MX but some BMX.   I think one factor to consider is that the suspension on a mountain bike will involve more tradeoffs than on a motocross bike because you have power to spare on the motocross bike but a mountain bike that sags and bobs too much will cost you pedaling efficiency (i.e. lost “horsepower”).    So you need to decide how much efficiency matters vs the ability to jump high and take gnarly obstacles.  This is not something we worried too much about on our MX bikes.