Feet/toes Falling asleep

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

Hey Guys,
      I am relatively new to the singletracks community, and this is my first involvement on the forum other than reading all the advice everyone has to offer. So I would like to say Hi.
      I also have a question. I have been riding for a couple of years now and have decided to give competition a try. While I have been training I have been noticing my feet are falling asleep when I am riding hard for an extended period (30 -45mins into the ride). I don’t use clips, or clipless. I roll on plat forms with sneakers. I gave clippless pedals a try but I am not sure I love them as much as some do. I had thought that I was just tying my shoes too tight, that still may be the case but I was wondering if anyone else has had this problem, or knows where I should go. It also might be cold weather but even then I am not definite (the cold sure makes it worse). I am 5’11’ and ride an XL cannondale Rush, (I believe it’s a little big but I got the bike before I knew too much about geometry, but that’s what I got for now). I also pedal heavily on the balls of my feet – or a little forward even.
      Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
      😃

Welcom to singletracks radicalis.What type of competition are you going to do,if your gonna race XC,you’ll get a a lot if not all advice to go clippless.

I live in the Washington DC area so unfortunately XC is just about all we have. I have heard from a few folks about the advanatges of clipless, and I might give it a shot again soon but for now I am going to try with out them. I have read a couple articles about folks who can do well in XC with out them, I guess I am hoping to be one of them.

My first MTB was a Specialized Rockhopper that is also borderline too big, and that can definitely cause numbness and weird pressure points.