Endurance Training/24 HR mentality for a new racer

Tagged: 

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

1st off, Incredible website. I am fairly new to serious mountain biking and have no friends who I ride with. I’ve spent the last 4 months training alone throughout NH and a site such as this really gives me hope for the future of the sport.

As I said, I have been doing alot of serious riding since early April. It started with an old Specialized FSR that I picked up on craigslist last year and the fact that married life added an extra 30 lbs, which I quickly wanted to get rid of before my quarter life crisis of parenthood. Well doing all the miles has paid off, Ive sucessfully lost all 30 lbs I intended to. As you might expect, I now suffer from a serious case of MTB fever. I’ve worked up to doing anywhere from 60-200 miles a week depending how I feel from the week prior. I try and mix in road riding quite a bit ( In central NH road riding is more like a gravel track 90% of my rides). Along with running stairs for atleast an hour a week. I have been trying to formulate a good training scedule for the off season thats approaching. I would really like to be in top shape for next March. I have a great desire to compete in endurance rides as well has 12-24 hour races, however I am terrified of the thought of being unprepared for either of these types of events. Can anyone point me in the right direction here… my real question is, how should i formulate a training scedule for the rest of the riding season before winter. And also, what should i specifically target for my winter workouts when it wont be possible to be outside on a bike. Ive always been an athletic person and have never had a problem in devising my own training methods, but as I said I really dont want to underestimate the amount of fitness these races require. Thanks for any replies, keep mashin the petals!