Durable budget hardtail – motobecane 529HT 29er?

Forums Mountain Bike Forum Durable budget hardtail – motobecane 529HT 29er?

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author

I’m a penny-broke grad student looking to upgrade my collection of totaled Walmart bikes to a budget hardtail.  I’ve done too much double-diamond stuff on Walmart bikes and they just fall apart.  I’m looking for a bike that will not fall apart, I don’t care if the fork breaks (Suntour will do, I guess), and I’m willing to assemble it to save money.  I’d really like a 29er and I’m 5’2″ with 32.5″ inseam.

– Would a Motobecane 529HT 29er 19″ from bikesdirect.com be my best bet? Any concerns or other recommendations?

– Would this bike handle aggressive riding weekly in SW Michigan with semi-annual trips to Colorado, the Appalachians, and Florida?

– What parts might I have to replace within a year?

Thanks!!

Hi, @zdebruine! It’s always fun to shop for a new bike. I own Motobecane hardtail as well (Fly Team 29er) and right after purchase put it to hard test in Pensylvania and Virginia. It held up very well. Gotta admit I never launched a drop taller then 3 feet with this bike – you have to know limits of your equipment. after a year front wheel gave up and I had to buy a new one. Other then that it’s still intact and fun to ride.

would this bike withstand aggressive riding weekly? Maybe. Depends on how aggressive you ride. Most likely you’d have to invest in a better fork and a set of good wheels. Or just know limits of your bike and use it accordingly.

Hope it helps. Good luck.

Forgot to mention that double black diamonds are 10 times more fun when you have full suspension

Hi @stumpyfsr, I should have mentioned my Walmart bikes had full suspension 🙂  LOL.  Haha.  It basically meant I was riding no suspension after the first off-camber rock drop.