Dual pedals

Forums Mountain Bike Forum Dual pedals

--
SHARES

Tagged: ,

• Author

I am a beginner mountain biker but have used SPD clipless pedals when commuting. I’d like to have the OPTION of clipping in, on easier trail sections, and clipping out on technical stuff I’m not sure about. Can someone recommend a good "dual platform" pedal? I have SPD shoes/cleats.

It sounds like you are looking for pedals with toe clips giving you the options of "locking in" & the security of "clipping out" when needed. This old school technology is really making a comeback providing the freedom/feel of a platform, the pedal efficiency of clipless, and the security/safety of not being "locked" in.

Toe Clips United 😎

"sssirois" wrote

It sounds like you are looking for pedals with toe clips giving you the options of "locking in" & the security of "clipping out" when needed. This old school technology is really making a comeback providing the freedom/feel of a platform, the pedal efficiency of clipless, and the security/safety of not being "locked" in.

Toe Clips United 😎

Not dual sided, but I run Crank Brothers Mallets. They work good when I don’t want to be clipped in. You could always go with something like these Wellgo pedals. They’re inexpensive, which is good until you decide which way you want to go.

I’m using the Shimano M324 SPD peddles. So far I’ve just used the platform half. I’ve bought some shoes and am going to work on adjusting to clipless. One thing I don’t like about the dual peddles is that i almost always have to flip one to the other side once I start peddling. The platform sides seem to always want to be on the bottom.