Does anyone bother trying to buy USA-made mountain bikes anymore?

Singletracks Mountain Bike News, Product Reviews, MTB Trails and Community Protected: Forums Mountain Bike Forum Does anyone bother trying to buy USA-made mountain bikes anymore?

Tagged: 

Viewing 27 reply threads
  • Author

I remember several years ago there used to be regular forum discussions about which brands were still making their bikes in the USA, and a lot of people seemed willing to go out of their way to buy American-made bikes. My question is, does anyone even bother anymore?

I guess if you’re really serious about supporting domestic bike production, a custom/indie bike is the way to go these days. Heck, there are even a couple companies attempting to make carbon fiber bikes in the USA.

I love how my Giant road bike has this huge USA flag sticker with tiny words saying “Designed in the USA. Made in Taiwan.” Sadly I suspect some are fooled by this type of marketing.

I’m a Manufacturing engineer, specifically doing project management and cost analysis in tubular welded products (in a different industry). Since getting into mountain biking I’ve often thought whether or not the United States could be competitive building frames. Part of the obstacle is the tariff schedule. Raw materials for example coil steel (from which tubes are made) get high tariffs while fabricated steel products get very low tariffs. So US steel suppliers can boost their coil prices more than the market could support. I am not as familiar with aluminum markets but it probably is similarly stupid. From a strict labor price difference point of view, I think it could be viable if the right level of automation were applied. You have the advantage of lower shipping costs and less currency fluctuation exposure. I’d love to see it revived to something more than a few niche low volume fabricators. I don’t know if the US would be competitive in carbon. I’m not as familiar with those processes.