DIY LiPo lights.

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

I have one of these for my RC car which i never use. It is a LiPo battery 4s. In the RC world the Turnigy batteries are as far as i know the standard for quality:

Could this be used for a DIY bike light? I was thinking maybe i could buy just the light unit without the battery pack to save money?

If i used this with my helmet i would put the battery in my pack. If i did it on my handlebars i would mount the battery at the water bottle mount.

I have never used 2 lights in combination before so i’m not really sure which configuration would be best but I would use it in combination with a Bontrager 700r which i already own:

I am planning on buying a new Bontrager helmet in the next few weeks with my new bike. This helmet has the mount for the Bontrager ion 700r. I think this is a very neat solution:

Thoughts?

What kind of lamp do you have in mind? Obviously you’d also want to wire in a switch, and maybe a way to adjust the power (brightness). You’ll also want to waterproof the whole setup, and make it a neat package. Could be a fun project if you enjoy DiY, but probably not a good way to save money.

Thanks. I think you might have just talked me out of it. I just assumed the switch would be in the light? I’m thinking maybe LiPo would be problematic because you cannot fully discharge a LiPo battery. It might be dangerous.

I had a similar aspiration, since I have plenty of rechargeable AA NiMH batteries on hand and wanted a cheap light. This is what I used: https://www.superbrightleds.com/moreinfo/led-light-pods/10w-mini-aux-2in-modular-led-off-road-work-light/1699/

It will operate over a very wide range of voltage (9-50 volts!) at a listed amperage of only .68 amps, so it will run off of darn near any battery pack for quite a while. I’m not 100% sure but if the minimum operating voltage of this light is 9v as stated, it should cut out before your battery becomes dangerously depleted.