Crankset and BB

Forums Mountain Bike Forum Crankset and BB

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Hey guys, I’m looking into replacing my stock crankset and bottom bracket. They’re crappy, they creak, and they’re weak.

I need some suggestions as to what I should purchase, mind you I’m a cook and don’t make astronomical amounts of money. It needs to be within reason. But I do need some help with the measurements, I’m not quite sure what my bike is, and there are many available options when ordering. I don’t want to order something that isn’t going to fit. I ride an Iron Horse Warrior if that helps any.

Thanks in advance!

Mostly all American bottom brackets are either 68mm or 73mm and English threaded. Yours will most likely be the same. For an exact number, flip the bike over and measure the width of the bottom shell of your frame where you put the bottom bracket in. Make sure you don’t count the sides of the bottom bracket cups that thread into the frame itself. However, most newer bottom brackets of the hollow link or octalink sytle fit both 68mm AND 73mm brackets so I wouldn’t really worry about it. If you go with the old style bottom bracket you will need an exact measure.

If you plan on doing it yourself, just pull off the existing crankset and BB and measure as stated above. Get a torque wrench and BB removal tools and go to town. Not a do it yourselfer? Go to a good local bike shop and they will handle it. You can probably find your EXACT bike specs on line at ironhorsebikes.com.

Cranksets often come with different crank arm lengths with the normal being 175mm. Normally they change in 5mm increments. Depending on your leg length and riding style, you may want to go longer or shorter. If you like the length of your current cranks just measure them and get the same on your new set.