CHEAP 'commuter' build?

Forums Mountain Bike Forum CHEAP 'commuter' build?

--
SHARES

This topic contains 11 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  christopher94 2 years, 12 months ago.

• Author

I’m new to cycling, so bear with me if this is a dumb idea…

I got into cycling in November, 2016.  Not an ideal decision from a trail condition perspective (in Northeast Ohio).  For 2 major reasons (snow, and cost) I purchased a fat-tire MTB in December, with the intention of riding through winter, and then seeing how the summer went on a heavy fat bike.  (then i decide whether my next bike is a good quality hardtail, or a entry level CX bike, but I digress…)

My problem is that winter hasn’t really come yet, and I am becoming increasingly aware of how much time I am going to have to spend on pavement in order to keep my fitness going and get seat time in on a tight schedule.  Trails can get soggy in the summer, too, and I may only have 2-3 days a week where my schedule (2 kids) allows me to get out and ride.

I need something that is more street-friendly than the fat bike (which has been pretty fun on 20 mile rides, and definitely helped my fitness).

In a perfect world, I would spend $600-$800 on a used CX bike, and just get road tires for it until cross season, but I am not looking to have the ‘discussion’ (I won’t say argument…) with my wife about dropping more money when my fat bike is less than a month old.

SO:  a buddy of mine gave me his old Trek 850.  I’ve been using it to pull my half-clones (daughters) around in the bicycle trailer.  Would it be a dumb idea to put $150 of minor ‘upgrades’ into the Trek to tide me over?

I figure $60 for narrower tires and tubes.

$30 for Ergon grips (to match my fat bike, and because the current grips make my hands go numb)

$50 for a new seat and seat post (I want to keep the current gel seat for when my wife rides the Trek, but I would like something more road-oriented than the current saddle)