Chain skips on cassette while under torque

Tagged: 

Viewing 19 reply threads
  • Author

Recently replaced chain, have the correct length, everything is clean. My chain is skipping on the rear cassette while under torque. Is this an adjustment issue?

I am no expert but have fixed up my bikes several times and it sounds like either the tension in the derailleur cable isn’t right or there is a small problem with one of the limit screws. Make sure the derailleur lines the chain up right on the gear for each of the limit screws and that there is enough tension in the cable for an immediate shift. slack can cause ghost shifting under torque. and if you said the chain is the right size (check the width too) then I can’t think of anything else it would be.

hope that helps. 💡

first check your chain for stiff links and check your cogs for worn or bent teeth. 9 times out of 10 that’s the culprit when I am having this issue. next make sure the derailleur is lining up correctly with each gear. I find this is easier to do with the chain off.

Sounds like cassette time. 😄 Later,

"crash1" wrote

Recently replaced chain, have the correct length, everything is clean. My chain is skipping on the rear cassette while under torque. Is this an adjustment issue?

I hate to say it (because I’ve been here many times), but you may need a new casette. If your old chain had stretched too much, it’s probably worn the teeth on your casette down so that the new chain isn’t jiving with them properly. About 90% of the times I buy a new chain I usually have to buy a new casette.

Check the teeth to see if they are square on the top and to see if there’s a symmetrical u shape between them. If they look pointed on top and the u is elongated, that’s a definite sign of serious wear.

When in doubt, visit an LBS