Chain Guides

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Those are the little wheels that look like chain tensioners right? are these a really good thing to have and do you need certain mounts on ur frames to get them? :?:

can it be used on a non single speed? and are they really worth having?

cjm

Actually there are lots of dual ring guides. I have been running Blackspire’s dual ring guides for about 4 years.

Unless you are dropping your chain a lot, you don’t need it. If you are dropping your chain the first thing I would check is that your bike is tuned correctly. Changers front and rear, chain length and perhaps even chain line. You might also be getting your chain "cross." Mainly, in the littlest ring and littlest cog on your cassette. If those don’t fix it, on your bike, I would go with a three ring guide. The Heim 3-Guide is the only one I can find quickly, but if you search google long enough you might find more.

Generally chain drops occur on full squish rigs. Few rear suspension designs move concentric to the chain rings. Thus, as you cycle through your travel, the distance from your rear cassette to your cranks grows and shrinks. When this distance gets to short it’s like riding with to many links in your chain and that makes it easy for your chain to pop off.

I have Transition Vargrant hardtail without a chain guide. I ride it on most my favorite nasty descents and have never dropped the chain. Again, I’d be surprised if you need one and I would check my bike over before I shelled out any dough for one.