Cannondale vs. Giant Hardtail

Tagged: ,

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

Hello.

I’m kind of new to mountain biking and am looking to get my first real hardtail bike. (how often have you heard that?)

I’ve been looking at the 2008 Cannondale F7 Disc (an overstocked item at a LBS) and the 2009 Giant Yukon. I’ve researched both of them quite a bit. Both frames are very solid from what I’ve found, it has all come down to the components. I know they are 500-600 dollar bikes and aren’t going to have the best components that will last the longest, but I am just seeking advice on which would be a better bike considering components.

About an hour ago I was set on the Cannondale…but after looking even deeper into the components and research I might go with the Giant. But really…I have no idea what I’m going to get. I am smack dab in the middle…don’t know which one.

Any help and advice would be awesome. Thanks!

Welcome friend. Either bike will serve you well, because even if they are "only"500-600 dollar bikes, they are from established brands. Given the choice I would choose the Cannondale, for purely emotional reasons. About 10 years ago I rode a Cannondale and out of all the MTB’s I have owned (about 6), that is the one I would like to have back. Giants, on the other hand, when they first came out was discovered to have been made by Chinese prison labor (slave labor, as they received no money). Maybe Giant has changed their ways, maybe not, but either way Cannondales are a mythic brand. Every MTB’er should own at least one, once in their riding life. That’s my 2 cents worth of advice, take it or leave it but always remember that MTB’ing is all about the fun, not politics.

Attack life! It’s going to kill you anyway.

I have a yukon and love it. I looked at the Haro, Cannondale, Fisher, Trek in that price range and thought the were all relativly close. The Giant felt the best when I was on it.