Building an Old GT Karakoram… I might be crazy

Tagged: ,

Viewing 27 reply threads
  • Author

Let me start by saying hi. New to the forum but I have been lurking through the site for a few months now. I recently picked up what some might call a lost cause. It is a 90’s GT Karakoram. $20 off of CL complete. Let me say, I am not a pro MTBer and I know most people would tell me to just get a new frame instead of dumping money into this old bucket… However I love the look and feel of old ChroMo frames. I had a Trek 930 that was stolen after I painted and upgraded it. Ever since then I have been looking for another old project to pick up. I’ve heard the Karakoram frame is bullet proof. This is more about the fun of doing this myself.

What’s done so far:

I’ve brought the frame home and stripped it of all the components. I then sent the frame off to be blasted and powder coated. Should be ready in a couple of days. Pics to come later tonight. This consisted of buying all the tools needed to remove the Crank, BB and Headset Cups, then doing the work. I am going to keep all of the Shimano Deore LX components for the bike and basically change everything else.

So that is the current state of things. Now for the fun stuff, the planned upgrades!

Here’s the list:
      New chain
      New BB
      WTB Speed V Saddle
      Cane Creek 40 Series Headset
      Vuelta Zerolite Wheelset
      RockShox XC30TK fork
      Avid BB7 Front disc set
      Avid Single Digit V brake for the rear
      Kool Stop Dual Compound Mountain Pads
      LVWA Carbon fiber riser bar
      RaceFace 70mm 6 degree stem
      Maxxis High Roller II 2.3 for the front
      WTB Weirwolf 2.3 for the rear

Please feel free to jump in and give me advice or suggestions. I really want to have this as a chronicle of the build from start to finish and the problems I run into if any!

If you like the bike, then build it, naysayers be damned. That being said, you couldn’t pay me to move back to era of bike 😀