build a mountain bike

Tagged: 

Viewing 17 reply threads
  • Author

Hi I am new to these so forgive me if i do something wrong. I am thinking about building a hardtail mountain bike.

First is this even a good idea
      I have a price range of 1200 what are some components, forks, wheel sets and frames i should consider
      how many tools will i need that are not regularly owned

I would like to get most of the stuff from my local shop which caries fuji, breezer, jamis and i could get norco but it would be hard

and i am 5’8" and still growing so what would be a good frame size

A good frame size if you’re still growing would be 20 in. or 21 in.

Also if you ride XC and get good components is a great idea. But once you venture into All-mountain riding it gets a little iffy, take it from me I ride a hardtail. But I’m building a Full-suspension bike.

so i live in florida and ride mostly down here but 6-8 times a year we go to georia or north carolina where we will ride much more advanced trails designed for full suspention but there is only one trail here that would justify full suspention is it worth it to save up more

i am wanting a trail bike just because when i ride i like to jump stuff and try to hit everything i can but they mostly come in full suspension or expensive hardtail which are both out of my price range of a max of 1200 dollars which is pretty hard to do but it is all i got

What I do is I buy older full suspension bike frame and used nice parts. That way you can get a Great full suspension bike for $1000

Aewynn, what trails do you usually ride? I would build for what you spend most of your time riding. Also, are you wanting to build a bike just for the experience of building a custom bike or are you not wanting to just buy a bike? I live down in Florida also and find that I don’t "need" a full suspension. So I bought the Trek Stache 8 hard tail. Love it. There are still good HT bikes made especially if you go over $1000.