Breaking in….

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author

Hey everyone!

I am curious to hear about your initial experience with mountain biking…how did you “break in” to the sport, so-to-speak? What’s the best way to approach it as a total beginner?

I am itching to give it a shot, but unsure as to how to go about that. I feel like it’s one of those things you learn through experience, but I don’t want to be reckless, just hop on, and end up regretting it.

Any and all advice/shared knowledge and experience is welcome and sincerely appreciated!

Many thanks!

Talk with your local bike shop. They’ll be more than happy to hook you up with a group ride, with folks who will take care of you on the trails, make sure you have a good experience,….people who remember what their first rides were like.  Have fun!

You find a bike you like and can afford, that is a real mountain bike, not a Walmart special. Ride it, ride it off pavement. You’re mountain biking. Find green trails in your area. If that seems too easy find blue trails in your area. If you made it this far, you are probably hooked, and will be drooling over better bikes, better gear, and far away trips to new trails.

I think the ideal starter bike would be the full-sus $2900 2020 Trek Fuel EX 7 with 29×2.6 tires and 130mm of travel.   If you are a shorter person the full-sus $2800 Santa Cruz 5010 D+ (Juliana Furtado D+ for women) with 27.5×2.6 tires and 130mm of travel would also make an excellent starter bike.

Both bikes are what I consider the best examples of modern full-sus medium travel Trailbikes at a reasonable price.   Spending almost $3000 might seem like a lot to spend on a sport that you’re not sure about but you won’t get the true Mountainbike experience without riding a full-sus bike of at least this minimum level of quality.