Hydraulic Disc Brake Bleeding tips for newbies

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author

Hi

This is my first post on this forum so I thought I’d try and make it a useful one. I’m new to MTBing but I like to fix things myself, so after watching many bleeding videos on Youtube I decided to take the plunge and bleed my own brakes. I bought an Avid kit for this job. Here’s a few things I learned from doing ‘first-time’ mistakes.

When it says fill one syringe half full, I recommend filling it 3/4 full. The reason for this is that when you de-gas the syringe it’s quite difficult to not lose a lot of fluid while forcing the air out of the tip. During my first few attempts the fluid went flying out of the syringe and all over the floor! If you manage to do a decent job and not lose too much fluid, then you can always dispose of some to make sure it’s only half full as instructed. The last thing you want to do is de-gas the fluid then realise you’ve lost too much and need to refill and de-gas again.

When creating a vacuum you may find that there isn’t much room left in the syringe to draw the air out. If so, simply pull the syringe back as far as you can and leave it for 10 seconds. You’ll start to see bubbles making their way through. There’s no need to keep pushing the syringe back in and out as quickly as it mentions in the service manual.

Wear glasses. Period. When removing the syringe from the bleed port it flung some fluid into my eye. Not nice. And definitely wear gloves because no matter how careful you are you’re bound to get some on your hands the first time you try this, especially when removing the syringe from the bleed port.