Bike part or bike clothing that turned out to exceptional?

Singletracks Mountain Bike News, Reviews, MTB Trails and Community Protected: Forums Mountain Bike Forum Bike part or bike clothing that turned out to exceptional?

Tagged: 

Viewing 14 reply threads
  • Author

Which items have you purchased that have surprisingly worked far better than you expected for the price you paid?

Gloves from Lidl £5 waterproof and still going for 4 winters all seams intact

Swalbe marathon plus ride 2 work tyres 4 years 1 puncture

Great question!

That’s impressive to get 4 years out of a pair of gloves. Actually, I have a pair of worn-out Specialized gloves I still wear which might be closing in on at least 4 years… Impressive use out of that tire too! Aren’t the knobs starting to get worn or cracked?

One product that comes to mind for me is the Light & Motion Seca 800. I’ve been running that light once a week for 6 years now, and it still lasts my entire 2-3 hour night ride. I thought for sure the battery would have died by now…

Light & Motion Seca 800 Review

Schwalbe Marathon Plus tyres have a smooth tread

Time ATAC pedals: All of them. Virtually indestructible and maintenance free. I have had them on my mountain bikes in one form or another since ’95. I’ve had the spring wear out or break on 2 pairs of them in over 20 years and amazingly the very first pair I bought is still in service one of my brother’s spare bikes. Speaking of cost I never paid more than $100 for any of them. Currently a set of MX8’s are on my daily driver.

Raceface bars and stems: Same story as with the Time pedals. Nearly impossible to break and inexpensive, I have had them on multiple bikes since ’99. Currently have a Chromag BZA bar on my daily driver (only because a Raceface in a similar style [the SixC] wasn’t available when I wanted it). So far so good, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed with them. The fit, feel and finish of Raceface is spot on as well.