Best Shoes For Platform Pedals?

Forums Mountain Bike Forum Best Shoes For Platform Pedals?

--
SHARES

Tagged: , ,

• Author

Getting in to mountain biking as a beginner, I know the popular answer is to go clipless, but I would like to spend some time on my new bike with platform pedals before I graduate to clipping in.

What are the best sort of shoes to wear while mountain biking on flats? I have heard 5-10 mentioned and am looking at some Scarpa lightweight hiking-type shoes.

Any tips are appreciated!

5tens are popular. I use Vans with a waffle pattern when I ride my bike equipped with flats. If you are planning on transitioning off of flats and onto clipless pedals, I wouldn’t drop a bunch of dough on specific shoes and instead just find some with a stiff arch and sticky tread. If, however, you think you might stick with them a year or more, I would suggest looking into a shoe designed specifically for a pedal.

Vans made a shoe like that but it had a cover that you could put over the clip part and use a flat pedal, you can still find them, I’ll have to find the name of them

I’d be super interested if you can find the name. I’ve not seen anything like it yet.

"championstuff" wrote

Vans made a shoe like that but it had a cover that you could put over the clip part and use a flat pedal, you can still find them, I’ll have to find the name of them

They are called the Vans Gravel. You can still find them on Amazon and there are also some of the five tens that are set up the same way. I am looking into the Five ten Minnars and Hellcats. All of the reviews I have seen say the vans do not have as stiff of a sole as some of the other convertible shoes out there. I do like the look of the Vans though, they look just like the old schools!

Oh, I do remember looking at those. Ultra nifty but way out of my price range. I picked up my last pair of Vans on eBay for around $25 and bought my Chrome clipless shoes for $40 IIRC.