Best MTB trails near Phoenix, Arizona

Tagged: ,

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

We are going to Phoenix in a few days on business, but we’re bringing out bikes. I am a beginner and my boyfriend is advanced. We’ve been asked to lead a mountain bike ride on Sunday. The other riders (coworkers and boss) would be beginners I’m assuming. We’ll be renting bikes locally for them and have van for transporting bikes. We don’t mind driving up to 2 hours outside of Phoenix.

Any suggestions on best trails for a beginner (but adventurous) group?

Thanks,
      Susan

Hope my response is not too late. It’s been very rainy lately, so I would stay away from Sedona or any location north of Phoenix. The city has many options for a nice ride. South part of town has South Mountain preserve (largest city park in the U.S.) and numerous trails varying from easy to insane. The North part of town has North Mountain Preserve. This park has many areas for access, the most popular being Dreamy Draw (located off highway 51). It has a nice paved path for the casual riders and many trails and loops to offer fun for many levels. I will say that there will always be some climbing involved with any level of trail in this town, but consider it more like a roller coaster ride with a payout just around every corner. 😃 You can find out more about trails at these parks on this webiste. There are other areas to visit as well, I would visit a LBS or pick up Cosmic Ray’s Arizona MTB Guide. It rocks!

Ill second picking up Cosmic Ray’s MTB Guide, great guide and pretty hilarious reading!

The Black Canyon trail has been on my hit list for a while now- it got 9 inches of rain in 36 hours last week! – I think Ill wait a few more days 😃

Here’s a link to trails w/in 25 miles of Phoenix. Just realized we don’t have difficulty ratings on this page… Will fix that soon!

http://www.singletracks.com/php/zipcode … &radius=25

Also, here’s an overview map of Phoenix trails we created a while back: