Best Bike for the Buck

Tagged: 

Viewing 14 reply threads
  • Author

I am looking at upgrading from my Trek 4300 and I was wondering what the best bike is out there in the 500-600 dollar range? I’m not brand loyal by any means and I’m willing to give just about anything a shot, but I want to know what you guys found works best. I like to ride a lot of dirt paths, single track, and some pavement as well. I’m hopefully looking for something with disc breaks and a decent front fork. I don’t care if it is a hard tail or soft tail. Any advice?

Patrick

I’m not an expert, but from my "research" before I bought a bike, I found the Trek 4300 to already be perhaps the best bike in that price range. Perhaps you might be best to spend your money on upgrades to it?

The Trek 4300 is a perennial "best buy" in that price range. You might find something "different" but you’d be hard pressed to find something "better". Trek skimps on components to meet the price point (as do other manufacturers in this price range), but the frame is built like a tank and is worthy of upgrades.

Probably the only option for something "better" in this price range is to buy used.

-BR

Sounds like you might have an older Trek 4300, without disc brakes? Maybe just update to the current model. The Kona Fire Mountain is also an excellent buy.

I’d keep the 4300, even with rim brakes only for general riding. Good frame. Upgrade the fork if you’d like something more plush and less weight. I’d upgrade it!

Unless the frame doesn’t fit you completely.

Thanks guys, I appreciate the feedback. With that in mind, any advice on what forks and discs to get?

Just one more vote for the Trek 4300 – I rode one from `06 until mid-season last year (when I upgraded to a Trek Fuel EX) – loved it. 😀

The RST shock mine came with definitely led something to be desired, though – maybe move up to a RockShox or something plusher?

"pcfiegen" wrote