Beginner skills

Tagged: 

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author

Hi, and let me begin by saying that I’m a complete noob to mountain biking. I’ve done a little with some cheap yard sale bikes and have learned that they suck… so I now have a nice bike, a used Giant Yukon?? I love it. I’ve ridden it a little around the neighborhood waiting for it to warm up to do any actual trail riding. But I figure until then I could at the least learn some essential skills. My question is this. What would be the best "tricks" to learn first, and where would I find the info on doing them?
      I’m kinda stuck teaching myself these things. I’ve been trying to learn track stands and bunny hops. Is there anything else I need to figure out before I hit the trails?

Ride, ride, ride, most important have fun, just go have fun, tricks are for shows. And the term is newb as in newbie, 😏 nuck nuck

Thanks for the tips. I do have some experience, I’ve just about figured out the braking on DH’s, I do still make shifting mistakes usually waiting too late to downshift for uphills and grind a little. My biggest thing is that I’ve been trying to figure out how to jump the little things in the trail. I’ll hit them and bust, or I have to stop and walk it. That’s whats annoying me more than anything else. I don’t know anyone that can or would teach me so the only thing I can do is try and figure it out on my own. That’s why I’ve been sticking to cheap bikes. But now that I have a bike that can handle what I want to throw at it, I’d like to learn a few new things.

Oh, and Juan Gear I meant noob. I’m a newb that sometimes acts the boob! 😆

get a 2×4 place in the drive way and ride it. place a 6"log (or bigger) and learn how to ride over it. going over curbs etc. place a can down and w/out turning have the from and rear wheel go around it on opposite sides. bunny hop. go to the library and pick up a book on mt biking.