Beginner bike?

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author

*Disclaimer* This is my first forum post so if I’m doing something wrong please let me know…

I’ve been doing some light mountain biking for the last two years on my cheapie Costco bike and now I’m looking to upgrade to a slightly better one. Being a kid on a babysitters salary I don’t have much money so the budget is pretty tight. I live in Arizona and mostly ride long distances in sand, gravel, and rocky terrain. Right now I ride mostly ride xc with some climbs, however I also like to try some more advanced trails and sometimes even commute on the road sometimes. I don’t know much about biking, but I was able to find a few choices that would work:

Giant Talon 3: https://www.giant-bicycles.com/us/talon-3

Diamondback Hook: https://www.diamondback.com/hook-41308

Diamondback Overdrive: https://www.diamondback.com/overdrive-27-14049

Raleigh Tokul 2: https://www.eriksbikeshop.com/raleigh-2017-tokul-2-hardtail-mountain-bike/pr3e8977/product

Now I know in this price range I won’t be getting any ultralight amazing mountain bikes but I really just want something to have fun on. I was wondering if anyone on here has any knowledge/experience on these bikes and which one has the best bang for the buck on parts. Any other bike suggestions would also be greatly apreciated!

Most components are pretty close to the same quality, I would say the Raleigh has the slightly better derailleur, and with the Alivio 9 speed derailleur will will have the option to add a Wolftooth road link, and switch the cassette from the 12-36  to a wide ratio 11-40 if you need more range. I am running Alivio 9 speed 11-40 on one of my bikes.