Another vs topic

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author

I’m gonna be getting my bike next week and can’t decide between 2. One is a diamondback response 2013 and the other is a jamis trail x sport 2015. The DB msrp is $440 but on sale for $280, the jamis is $540. The DB is 26 and the jamis is 27.5. Both have all Shimano parts. Does anyone have any useful opinions? Thanks for the help

Here’s the specs list for each bike

The jamis
      http://www.myjamis.com/SSP%20Applicatio … rp=m650b_2

And the diamondback
      http://www.diamondback.com/2013-response

After a quick look at the specs I, if I was in your position, would go with the diamond back. I am no expert and just gave a quick look, but I hope that helps.

Mountain biking is a drug, so if you get addicted you will need to upgrade all of these components. So go with the frame you like best and is most worthy of spending money on upgrades. Not trying to insult the bikes, just those components will not last if you are riding hard or if your level increases. Just changed to a 27.5" from 26" bike, because most of the manufacturers seem to be eliminating their 26" lines. Don’t want to upgrade my old bike if it’s going to be outdated- I have no conections in the "Biking World", but it just seems like 26" bike are on their way out in the higher end bikes.. Never liked the 29er’s but the 27.5" has a better feel.

I would lean towards the Jamis just because it has disc brakes and 8sp drive train as opposed to a 7sp. If you’re looking for a bike around that price, you might consider the Airborne Guardian, which is $599 and is set up with better components. It’s a 29er, which is nice on a hard tail.

Hey there,