Age old questions

Viewing 22 reply threads
  • Author

I’m new to XC racing. I’m riding a hardtail 26" Kona shred now and I’m getting ready to buy a new bike geared toward XC and racing. I was leaning toward a 29" full suspinsion. I don’t have access to be able to test ride bikes so I really don’t know what I would like best. Some of the expert racers are telling me to go with a light 29" hardtail. Other guys are saying that 29 ers are worthless and I should stay with a 26". Some guys are telling me that full suspension is the only way to go and others are saying they are two hard to climb with and it would slow me down to much. I’m 6’1" and 190lb. and my hardtail now beats me to death on our local trails. HELP!

Well maybe some of us can help you. First off I would go with a 26 full suspension. Like a giant anthem x1. Aluminium, light, fast, steeper head tube angle for better climbing. Full suspension isn’t that bad on climbs. Acctually, an adjusted rear shock can keep your tire on the ground better than a hardtail. This equals more constant traction. If you are worried about climbing, I wouldn’t suggest a 29’er. The wheels are a little more sluggish compare to the 26 inch wheels. I would go aluminium frame because it requires less mantainence than the carbon frames.

Also, where do you live and ride? People may let you try out their bikes.

I live and ride in WV. Most of our trails our fairly steep. Usually they have a lot of climbs and DH sections. Usually some pretty good technical sections also.

"dozzerboy" wrote