advice for building a xc mountain bike?

Mountain bike trails & Mountain bike reviews Protected: Forums Mountain Bike Forum advice for building a xc mountain bike?

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Hey all,

I’m new to the sport and have been riding a rigid but would like to upgrade. I am thinking of building a bike once summer is over (maybe spending around $1000-1200?) and was looking for books and websites that would helpful with this project. Of course any advice or tips from you all would also be helpful.

I have been riding mostly singletracks but would like to be able to do small jumps every once in a while and some technical courses. I guess I’m undecided between a hardtail and a cheaper FS.

Found a Jamis Parker 1.0 frame for $365 online. Is that sort of what I should be looking for, given my price range and riding preferences?

Thoughts?

Thanks!

Do you already have most of the componets and do you have the skills and tools needed to build a bike? MOST (not all) of the time its is cheaper to buy a bike with what you want on it than it is to piece it together. Aside from that I hear Jamis makes a good bike but I don’t know how the pricing should run.

".spree." wrote

Hey all,

I’m new to the sport and have been riding a rigid but would like to upgrade. I am thinking of building a bike once summer is over (maybe spending around $1000-1200?) and was looking for books and websites that would helpful with this project. Of course any advice or tips from you all would also be helpful.

I have been riding mostly singletracks but would like to be able to do small jumps every once in a while and some technical courses. I guess I’m undecided between a hardtail and a cheaper FS.

Found a Jamis Parker 1.0 frame for $365 online. Is that sort of what I should be looking for, given my price range and riding preferences?

Thoughts?

Thanks!