A Beginner’s Review of Going Clipless

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

The "clipless debate" (clipless vs flats) is long and multifaceted, with good points on all sides as to which is best. Let me say first that I don’t know which is best, but what I hope to do here is provide other beginners with some insight from my first day clipping in.

So, what kind of beginner am I? I started MTBing in May with an entry level 29er from Marin. I’m 23 years old, in decent shape, and am not completely unfamiliar to bikes (I raced BMX when I was 12). Still, I’m new to the sport. My pedals are the Shimano M520’s, and I ride XC.

I had two main reasons for going clipless: I got tired of my feet slipping off the pedals when I hit some gnarly stuff, especially going uphill, and I wanted an "upstroke" to help me climb faster. I assumed this could be solved by going clipless, so I took the plunge.

Pros:

The first thing I noticed is that clipping out was far easier than I thought it would be. Every time I wanted out I was able to get out. That’s not to say you might find a situation where it won’t work, but I rode a really flat 2 mile "greenway" before the singletrack, clipping in and out in several different pedal positions to get used to it. It was so simple.

Secondly, acceleration improved greatly as I began to "spin" and not push. I was able to accelerate in higher gears than normal. This included going uphill. There is a certain efficiency gained when you’re strapped to the pedals. I felt so in control; I was able to be dynamic with my pedaling to avoid getting my pedal clipped by high boulders or get half strokes in when cleaning roots. I felt so connected. It felt good.