6700 vs Rockhopper

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Hello All,

I got into mountain this past summer and my ol 99′ is ready to be retired or have a major overhaul (aka shifters, front and back derailer, crank, cogs, front shocks). I have written on this forum in the past and you all seem like you know what your are talking about. im looking at the 09′ specailized rockhopper pro and the 09 Trek 6700. I am currently riding basic singletrack trails, but I want to take on more and i feel like these ht’s are what I need. both are around the same price at the LBS but since I am new to the sport I would love to hear what the pro’s and con’s to each component of the bike. Here are the links of the specs?

[url:2gk6dws8]http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/mountain_hardtail/6_series/6700/[/url:2gk6dws8]

[url:2gk6dws8]http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bc/SBCBkModel.jsp?sid=09Rockhopper&eid=107[/url:2gk6dws8]

Main concerns:

Which has the better front shock, Recon Coil or Recon Slite?
      Casset- SRAM PG950 11-34, 9 speed vs Shimano HG-50, 9-speed, 11-34t
      Tires- Bontrager Jones XR vs Specialized Fast Trak LK Control or should i also invest in another tire?
      Anything else?

Love to hear of personal experiences with either. I know you are going to say go and ride them, but i have ridden both and can’t deside.

Thanks!

Looks like it’s unanimous so far…

I guess so maddslacker… I was wondering why cuz I was actually leaning toward the Trek before this post. Plus that whole Specialized Hate thread i read yesterday.

Which bike’s components will last longer?
      Which is better for upgrades?
      Are there any immediate components to swap right away?

Well the components, as a package, or pretty equal.

Both frames are most likely made in Taiwan by Giant.

I started mountain biking on a 2003 Rockhopper and it was (is) a great bike. I still ride it as a commuter for work and around town.

But hey, Lance rides a Trek, so…