2011 Trek Fuel ex 8 components upgrade

Tagged: 

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author

hey guys.. if you were to upgrade any components for this bike what would it be and why?
      thanks.

Next to the tires – nothing

All I upgraded on my 2009 FuelEx8 was the drivetrain to XT, when I changed to 3×10 and the brakes to Shimano SLX, after I had some trouble with the Juciy

You could upgrade the frame to Giant. 😆

"maddslacker" wrote

You could upgrade the frame to Giant. 😆

Upgrade, not downgrade 😄

cool! thanks for the replies.

I have changed my tires to Specialized The Captain Control 2bliss and such a difference than the stock tires.

Im a newbie to MTB (2 years or <) and hoping to do more (higher) drops in the future, do you think this rims will handle the drops or can the bike handle it? TBH maybe the highest I’ll drop from is 5 feet.. 😳

thx

I’d say, you have the wrong bike…

I have owned a trek fuel for five years now.Try Kenda Nevegal tires. Otherwise leave bike alone. But i would NOT drop in from five feet. Bike was not designed for that unless you weigh about ten pounds. Fuel was never meant for big drops…

"up2trouble" wrote

I have owned a trek fuel for five years now.Try Kenda Nevegal tires. Otherwise leave bike alone. But i would NOT drop in from five feet. Bike was not designed for that unless you weigh about ten pounds. Fuel was never meant for big drops…

+1 for sure.

I have ridden my ’08 EX8 pretty hard over the past few years, but I would never consider doing drops of 5′ on it. That’s even if I had the skills to pull it off! 😀 I’m not sure if even the Remedy is rated for something like that.

Oh, and to answer your original question: When I wore out my original drivetrain, I replaced it with an SRAM X0 setup with a Stylo 3.3 crankset. I have really enjoyed the switch. I also changed out the handlebars, stem, and seatpost to the Bontrager Rhythm line; but that had nothing to do with performance, just tweaking the cockpit for fit.